what is there that keeps us together

If someone asks me what is there that keeps us together,                                                                   

I am going to tell them about the silences we share instead of the relationship that contains us.I would tell them that little things matter.   

And there is nothing that could replace us sitting quietly by the lake side sharing chocolates and ideas about how our future is gonna be like.                                        

You blame me for not looking into your eyes   while I blame you for gazing at me for hours. 

You tell me how you are like, made of broken pieces and I tell you i am the brightest piece of mine when i am with you.

I am not going to tell them about our walks your fingers entwined with mine,           

But instead make them believe how we had       perfect moments lit with starlight.             

Lying beside each other while our souls made love like never before.

You know, I won’t let out the secrets about us.  I will let it hold us,grip us in every possible way. 

And even if i tell this, I am not telling them the moments that belong to me when you are just mine

And when someone gets the itch of knowing what held you and me together,

I am going to use the lamest and the dullest things,hiding all your words you told me each night which rhymed with mine.

I will define us with all the faded colors which are colorful in our hearts.

So if someone asks me what is there that holds us together My answer will be the ‘love’ their soul couldn’t reach.

-Palak Arora

Leave a Reply

